[ carnatic.com ]
a person or thing having only an imaginary or unverifiable existence
- Cheese is Vegetarian
----- Cheese is made by coagulating milk to give curds which are then separated from the liquid,
whey, after which they can be processed and matured to produce a wide variety of cheeses.
Milk is coagulated by the addition of rennet. The active ingredient of rennet is the enzyme,
chymosin (also known as rennin). The usual source of rennet is the stomach of slaughtered
newly-born calves. Vegetarian cheeses are manufactured using rennet from either fungal or
bacterial sources. Advances in genetic engineering processes means they may now also be
made using chymosin produced by genetically altered micro-organisms.
Monday, October 25, 1999
Monday, October 25, 1999 3:17:09 PM
Valid HTML 4.0!